National History Day in PA Regional Contest Coordinators

Region 1: Erie, Warren, Crawford, and McKean

Competition: February 29, 2020
Contact: Dr. Kalé Haywood,  Allegheny College
Phone:  814-332-4342

Region 2: Luzerne (except Hazleton School District), Lackawanna, Susquehanna, Pike, Wayne, Wyoming, Monroe, and Sullivan

Competition: April 4, 2020
Contact: Dr. Sean Brennan, University of Scranton
Phone: 570-941-4549

Region 3: Butler, Mercer, Lawrence, Venango, Forest, Clarion, and Beaver

Competition: March 19, 2020
Contact: Dr. Patricia Clark, Westminster College
Phone: 724-946-7248

Region 4: Armstrong, Indiana, Jefferson, Clearfield, Cambria, Elk, and Westmoreland*

Competition Date: March 27, 2020
Contact: Dr. Werner Lippert, Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Region 5: Clinton, Clearfield, Centre, Mifflin, Montour, Juniata, Snyder, Union, and Northumberland

Competition Date: February 28, 2020
Contact: Ms. Diane Hubona
Address: 345 Link Road, West Decatur, PA 16878
Phone: 814-342-0884

Region 6: Hazleton School District (Luzerne County), Schuylkill, Columbia, Carbon, Lehigh, and Northampton

Competition: March 21, 2020
Contact: Mr. Michael Kattner and Ms. Susan Falciani Maldonado
Address: c/o Susan Falciani Maldonado, Trexler Library, Muhlenberg College, 2400 Chew St., Allentown, PA 18104
E-mail: or
Region 7: Allegheny, Washington, Greene, Fayette, Westmoreland*, and Somerset

Competition: Junior Competition – March 14, 2020; Senior Competition – March 15, 2020
Contact: Amanda McAllen, Senator John Heinz History Center
Address: 1212 Smallman Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Phone: 412-454-6314

Region 8: Cumberland, Adams, Franklin, Dauphin, Perry, and Fulton

Competition: March 7, 2020
Contact: Ms. Cathay Snyder, Messiah College
Address: One College Avenue, Suite 2051, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone: 717-766-2511, ext. 3948

Region 9: Berks, Lancaster, Lebanon, and York

Competition: February 26, 2021
Contact: Dr. Michael Gabriel, Kutztown University
Address: 115 Lytle Hall, Kutztown, PA 19530
Phone: 610-683-4385

Region 10: Delaware and Chester

Competition: Senior Division – March 27, 2020; Junior Division – March 28, 2020
Contact: Ms. Lindsay Campellone, Chester County Historical Society
Address: 225 North High Street, West Chester, PA 19380
Phone: 610-692-4800 ext. 202

Region 11: Bucks and Montgomery

Competition: March 28, 2020
Contact: Karina Kowalski, Education Coordinator
Address: Bucks County Historical Society, 84 South Pine Street, Doylestown, PA 18901
Phone: 215-345-0210

Region 12: Philadelphia

Competition: Senior Division – March 18, 2020; Junior Division – March 19, 2020
Contact: Ms. Andrea Reidell, The National Archives at Philadelphia
Phone: 415-735-8890

*Westmoreland County is divided between Region 4 and Region 7 by school district:

Region 4: Kiski Area, Ligonier Valley, Derry Area, Monessen City, Mount Pleasant Area, Greater Latrobe, Greensburg Salem, Hempfield Area, Jeannette City, and Southmoreland

Region 7: New Kensington-Arnold, Burrell, Franklin Regional, Penn Trafford, Norwin, Belle Vernon Area, Yough, and Diocese of Greensburg

Legal  |  Privacy  |  Copyright © 2021 Army Heritage Center Foundation